Derringer – Sweet Evil (Jewel Case CD)

Derringer ‘Sweet Evil’  during the mid 1970s American hard rock had reached its zenith with acts like Aerosmith, Montrose and Ted Nugent ruling the roost and setting standards for years to come. Amongst those lynch pins were a number of up and comers all eager to capture a slice of the action and Derringer were one of the very best. Fitting right into the period the band focussed on lean and mean riffs, punchy production and wide screen songs blessed with heavy and dark overtones. Formed by teenage protégée Rick Derringer who had scored a huge hit, ‘Hang On Sloopy’, in the 1960s with his band the McCoys and later going on to play with Edgar and Johnny Winter. Rick’s star was certainly in the ascendance when he decided to form this non compromising hard rock band. Enlisting second guitarist Danny Johnson, bassist Kenny Aaronson and drummer Vinny Appice, the band quickly established themselves as contenders with a solid debut album, but it was their second record, the wonderfully titled ‘Sweet Evil’, that really put the cat amongst the pigeons. Produced by Jack Douglas (Aerosmith, Starz, Cheap Trick) and originally issued in 1977, the album is a veritable treasure trove of deeply moving heavy rock, with epically constructed tracks such as ‘Driving Sideway’, ‘Sittin’ By The Pool’, ‘One Eyed Jack’ and the title track itself – all wide angle shots at the big time and all injected with breathlessly executed guitar solos and some of the best riffs on record. 24-bit remastering, 4,000 word essay about the making of the album, new interview, enhanced artwork and photos spread out over a 16 page full colour booklet.

Track List

1. Don’t Stop Loving Me
2. Sitten’ By The Pool
3. Keep On Makin’ Love
4. One Eyed Jack
5. Let’s Make It
6. Sweet Evil
7. Drivin’ Sideways
8. I Didn’t Ask To Be Born